

Memorandum of Discussion

ACBL Unit 174 Annual Meeting

April 15, 2023

Arabia Shrine Center, Harwin Drive, Houston

Call to Order Kathleen McDougall

President Kathleen McDougall brought the meeting to order at 1:55 PM. Present at the meeting were Kathleen McDougall, Karen Nussbaum, Clif Rice, Steve Gordon, Greg May, Charles Dalton, Byron Fackenthall, Thomas Rush, John DuBose and Sarah Springer. Nancy Strohmer was also present in the audience.

KM began the meeting by introducing the members of the Board and going over the agenda presented via power point to the assembly.

Approval of Minutes

Kathleen McDougall

KM presented minutes from the **April 10, 2022** Annual Meeting. There was a motion made to approve the minutes and all were in favor. **MINUTES for the April 10, 2022 Annual Meeting were APPROVED**.

Treasurer's Report

Steve Gordon

SG gave the Treasurer's report noting that in 2022 we had \$135, 000 in income and spent \$195,000. He reported that the Sectional tournaments all lost money, but the main losses came from the Lone Star Regional.

The bank balance at the end of 2022 was \$133,000.

State of the Unit

Kathleen McDougall

KM reported on the state of the Unit, noting that Covid has had a major negative impact on our Unit, not only financially but also with our membership. We have suffered a 17% drop in membership.



The Lone Star Regional is usually our big money maker and it funds the Sectional tournaments, but it has turned into our loss leader. To address these problems, KM reported two approaches being made by the Board, one, to reduce costs, and two, to focus on recruitment and retention of members. KM reported cost savings measures such as spending less on tournaments, not printing daily bulletins nor the Unit Directory. These things have been provided electronically to save money. Entry fees have been raised.

KM reported on the great success of the FLM initiative in our Unit. We need volunteers from our membership to work on a task force to increase interest in bridge. KM requested that members spread the word about bridge, get involved with the Board, volunteer for committees. We need to recruit college students. To achieve these goals, our members need to help.

Future Life Masters Greg May

GM gave the report on the success of the Future Life Masters program. It was developed in 2021 by Jack Levine, Cindy Cox, and Greg May; these individuals were the driving force of the initiative. The current team includes Cindy Cox, Kathy McDougall, Janice Hardcastle, Mary Ellen Vail, Sam Khayatt, Betty Westbrook, and Greg May.

GM reported that the 0-20 game has grown to a 0-50 game and there have been 427 tables since March 2021. This game is held on BBO every Tuesday. The 199r game face to face at Shiriners' has had 91 tables since July 2022. These games are held monthly on a Sunday. The 0-20 FLM game on BBO held monthly on Saturday has had 65 tables since September 2021. The newcomer table count at the Lone Star Regional tripled from 2022 to 2023.

Starting in March 2023, there is a 299r game monthly on a Monday, and BCOH has a 299r game monthly on a Saturday.

GM announced that the FLM program is a real success. Our FLM players are continuing to play and are developing a camaraderie and inviting others to join them.

The Upcoming Sectionals also promote the FLM players. Our August Sectional will also be a FLM Reginal as well as the October Sectional in Galveston.

Charity Report Nancy Strohmer

NS reported that the Unit's Charity games raised \$2264 which was given at the Lone Star Regional to the Houston Food Bank. This is a real success from the six Charity games held in a year.



Club Connection Sarah Springer

SS reported on the Board's Club Connection efforts, describing the visits the Board has made to various Unit Clubs, including the Apple Club, Bridge Academy of West Houston, the Cypress Club, the Sugar Land Club, and most recently the College Station Club. Members of the Board visit the clubs together for one of the club's scheduled games and get to know the members of our Unit. This effort is a successful outreach of the Board of Directors to our members.

Awards and Honors

Kathleen McDougall

KM announced the various awards and honors earned by our members in 2022. The District 16 Star Award went to Jack LaVigne. The two Unit Goodwill Award recipients were Linda Drake and Mary Ellen Vail. KM went on to recognize Unit 174 members who are involved with the ACBL, including Paul Cuneo, Betty Starzec, Nancy Strohmer, and Eddie Wold.

KM then thanked the Board of Directors for their service to the unit: KM herself, Clif Rice, Karen Nussbaum, Greg May, Thomas Rush, John DuBose, Charles Dalton, Byron Fackenthall and Sarah Springer.

KM also recognized our key volunteers, Al Fortier, Photographer, Paul Nimmons, Election Official and Parliamentarian, Chuck Gillis, Unit Attorney, Nancy Strohmer, Charity Coordinator, and Jack Lavigne, Facilitator.

Members of Unit 174 who are involved in District 16 were also recognized: Sam Khayatt, I/N Coordinator, Lauri Laufman, I/N Newsletter Editor and Membership Chair, Jack LeVigne, Recorder, John Magvari, Webmaster, Betty Starzec, President and Awards Chair, Nancy Strohmer, Past President, Charity Coordinator, Robly Coordinator, 99r and 199r Nite Club Liaison, and Jim Woodward, Financial Verifier.

KM also recognized and thanked Evvie Glibert, Unit Newsletter Editor, Allison Ochsner, Unit Webmaster, and Jack LeVigne, Scorecard Reporter.

KM specially recognized Betty Starzec, who received the award for 2023 Honorary Member of the Year as well as ACBL's Teacher's Teacher Award.

KM moved on to recognize achievements of members of Unit 174:

Diamond Life Master with more than 5000 Masterpoints:

Dolores Aquino, Allen Wolf, Julie Halperin, Rick Stell, Mimi Hagedorn, Betsy DuBose, Vinh Tran, and Barbara Phillips.

Emerald Life Master with more than 7500 Masterpoins:

Ronald Brown and Victor Sitton.

Platinum Life Master with over 10,000 Masterpoints:



Jeff McKee and Jack LaVigne.

KM then moved on to the Unit 174 Winners of the 2022 Mini McKenney:

0-5, Kyo Chen.

5-20, Edwin Tumlinson

20-50, Robert Lane

50-100, Zane Bolen

100-200, Scott Cantor

200-300, Kathy L'Hommedieu

300-500, William Churchman

500-1000, Sarah Springer

1000-1500, Paddy Fiorino

1500-2500, Courtney Coffman

2500-3500, Thomas Rush

3500-5000, Dolores Aquino

5000-7500, Bill Riley

7500-10,000, Jeff McKey

Over 10,000, Eddie Wold

And the Unit 174 Winners of the Ace of Clubs:

0-5, Antoun Henri

5-20, Edwin Tumlinson

20-50, Thomas Dilger

50-100, Maureen Mallory

100-200, Kathleen Hubbard

200-300, Kathy L'Hommedieu

300-500, William Churchman

500-1000, Ann Dahn

1000-1500, Jack Dean, Jeanette Dean

1500-2500, Jo Ann Pierce

2500-3500, Arthur Giovannangeli

3500-5000, Dolores Aquino

5000-7500, Bill Riley

7500-10,000, Jeff McKey

Over 10,000, Joe Quinn

Election Results

Kathleen McDougall

KM announced the winners of the Board Election: Karen Nussbaum, Nile Gross, and Antoun Henri.



Members Leaving the Board

Karen Nussbaum

KN recognized the Members of the Board of Directors rotating off the Board and awarded them plaques for their service: Kathy McDougall, Cliff Rice, and Greg May.

Questions from the Audience

There was brief discussion about changing the Sectional tournament days from Friday, Saturday, Sunday to Thursday, Friday, Saturday. It was requested that there be a vote on this subject. KM stated this would happen at a later date due to time constraints at the time that would not allow a straw vote at the Annual Meeting.

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made and seconded. All were in favor.

Motion carried

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Springer, Unit 174 Board Secretary