Memorandum of Discussion ACBL Unit 174 Annual Meeting

April 26th, 2015

Marriott Westchase Hotel

Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 1:46 pm by the President of Unit 174, Beverley Cheatham. Board members present were Beverley Cheatham, Nancy Strohmer, Chuck Ensor, Kathy Hughes, and Daniel Jackson. Gary Hercules, treasurer, was present. Bob Armstrong, Tom Martinsen, and Bill Riley were absent. Daniel Jackson acted as secretary.

Minutes of 2014 Annual Board meeting

Daniel

The minutes of the 2014 annual meeting were available at the meeting for the members to review.

Motion: That the minutes from the previous annual meeting be accepted as presented.

The motion was made by Daniel Jackson, seconded by acclamation, and approved by all present.

Treasurer's Report Gary

Copies of the annual treasurer's report were available for members to review prior to the meeting. Gary Hercules provided a summary of last year's budget. Last year the unit sustained a \$9,000.00 loss due to adverse weather conditions during the Lone Star Regional.

Motion: That the treasurer's report be accepted as presented.

The motion was made by acclamation, and seconded and passed without opposition.

Unit 174 Reports Beverley

Beverley reported some of the accomplishments and activities of the Unit during the year.

6,914 tables were in play in tournaments during the last 12 months.

Plans were made for a sectional tournament to be held at the Sam Houston Race Park for the first time.



A joint ACBL-ABA game was held this year, drawing 40 tables.

The unit held a Whirlwind Bridge seminar to teach the basics of bridge to students in a single day. 104 students participated.

The board instituted a Club Connection program to visit local clubs.

Preamble to Bylaws Change

Chuck

In order to clarify the relationship between Unit 174 and ACBL, for tax purposes, a change to the preamble to the bylaws was proposed.

The old version of the preamble is as follows:

Unit No. 174 is a subsidiary of the American Contract Bridge League, Inc., recognizes the League as being the parent organization having authority and control over tournament bridge in the United States, exists under the sanction of the League and functions as a nonprofit organization with the Constitution, Bylaws and regulations of the League.

The proposed new preamble is as follows:

American Contract Bridge League Unit No. 174 exists under the sanction of the American Contract Bridge League and functions as an unincorporated nonprofit association in compliance with the Constitution, Bylaws and regulations of the American Contract Bridge League.

Motion: That the bylaws change be accepted as presented.

The motion was made, seconded, and approved by acclamation. Online votes regarding the motion were 72-2 in favor of passage.

New Business

Scheduling for Lone Star Regional

Marsha Bernstein spoke regarding the scheduling of events for the 2016 Lone Star Regional. She noted that there were no open two-session events which include everyone.

Motion: That the Lone Star Regional have at least three pair events scheduled containing all strata.

Numerous members spoke in favor of and in opposition to the motion.

Motion: Debate on the motion is to be closed.

The motion to close debate was made. The motion was seconded by multiple persons present and passed overwhelmingly.

The motion to have at least three pair events at the Lone Star Regional was made by Marsha Bernstein and seconded by multiple people. The motion passed narrowly.

Rick Stell spoke regarding moving the start time of the evening session from 7:30 to 6:30.



Motion: That the evening session of the Lone Star Regional start at 6:30 and the start times for the morning and afternoon sessions be adjusted accordingly.

The motion was made by Rick Stell and seconded by Marsha Bernstein.

Numerous members spoke in favor of and in opposition to the motion.

The motion was narrowly defeated.

Unit Awards Beverley/Kathy

Errol and Abbie LeCesne received the Unit 174 Goodwill Award for their service to the Unit.

Kathy announced the winners of the Unit Mini-McKenney and Ace of Clubs awards.

The Mini-McKenney winners were:

0-5: Stephen and Holli Mast 5-20: Kristen Onsgard 20-50: John Caudill 50-100: Odis Nolte 100-200: Pam Barksdale 200-300: Lisa Zummo

200-300: Lisa Zummo 300-500: Courtney Coffman 500-1000: William Kibikas 1000-2500: Susan Stubinski 2500-5000: Bruce Wick 5000-7500: Carolyne Fox

7500-10000: Tom Breed 10000+: Eddie Wold

The Ace of Clubs winners were:

0-5: Neil Paddy

5-20: Scherry Sprague 20-50: Michael Bright 50-100: Odis Nolte 100-200: Louis Bockman 200-300: Anita Rothfuss 300-500: Courtney Coffman 500-1000: William Kibikas 1000-2500: William Daniel III 2500-5000: Victor Sitton

5000-7500: Mary Pat Gentry 7500-10000: Pat Levy 10000+: Edward Groner

Beverley recognized retiring board members Kathy Hughes and Tom Martinsen.



Election Results Beverley

Beverley announced the election of new Unit 174 Board members: Nancy Strohmer, John Caudill, and Walter Freitag.

Adjourn

Motion: That the meeting be adjourned.

The motion was seconded and approved at 2:34 pm.

Respectfully submitted

Daniel Jackson

Unit 174 Board Member

