

Memorandum of Discussion

ACBL Unit 174 Annual Meeting

April 25th, 2010

Westchase Marriott



Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 2:15 pm. Board members present were Pat Levy – President, Paul Cuneo, Vice-President, John Erickson, Secretary, Bob Dowlen, Robert Reichek, Kathy Hughes, Karen Nimmons, Joyce Ryan, and Lauri Laufman. Also present was Jim Woodward – Treasurer.

Approval of 2009 Minutes

The minutes of the 2009 Annual Meeting were submitted for approval.

Motion: That the minutes of the 2009 Annual Meeting be approved.

The motion was seconded and approved by a voice vote. There were no dissenting votes.

Financial Report

Jim Woodward reported on the financial state of the Unit. These items were highlighted:

2009 Profit & Loss

• Income \$409,356 • Expenses \$411,075

Net Loss \$ 1,719

2009 Balance Sheet at Year End

Current Assets \$112,582

A total of \$51,238 was sent to the Unit pursuant to the successful Houston NABC in March.

Motion: To approve the 2009 financial report as submitted.

The motion was seconded and approved.



Moment of Silence

Pat requested a moment of silence in remembrance of the many Unit members who have passed away in the past year.

Old Business

Social Bridge Initiative

The Unit is working hard to attract social bridge players to duplicate as a means of increasing membership. We have had three events in the past three years. The most recent one was held at the Bridge Club of Houston in February 2010. There were 53 players in attendance. We want to thank Beverley Cheatham and her committee for doing such an outstanding job in organizing this affair. The Unit is planning on having one of these events each year.

Membership

The Unit now has 2,575 members. Last year at this time we had 2,439 members, so we had an increase of 136 members.

Regional

Our 2010 Regional was the largest tournament in the last 12 years. We had 3,025.5 tables and a total of 1,761 players in attendance. During the Regional Jolie Hess was given the Texas Star Award for outstanding service to the Unit.

Marriott

We have signed contracts with the Westchase Marriott for our regionals from 2011 thru 2015, and we also have signed contracts for our April and August sectionals at the Marriott for the same timeframe.

New Business

BridgePad Scoring

We implemented the use of the BridgePad electronic scoring device at the 2010 Regional, and it was well received. We feel we will continue to use them for all sectionals and regionals.

Head Caddy

The board hired Abbie LeCesne to be our Head Caddy in January 2010, and she has been doing an outstanding job.

Scorecard

In March the board appointed Mary Jane Kinnebrew to become our Scorecard editor, and she is going to do a terrific job. Mary Jane replaces Anne Page, who served as editor for approximately nine years and did a great job. Anne passed away in February and will be missed by all.

Contributions of Bert Onstott

Several months ago the board appointed Bert Onstott to be our representative to the District, where he is currently serving as 2nd Vice President. We also want to thank Bert for serving as our Unit webmaster and to thank Arlene Weingarten for her many years of service as webmaster. Bert devised the Partnership Desk, an on-line system to enable players to find partners. Currently there are almost 400 registrants, and there have been about 100 requests for partners via the



system during the past month. We need to remind and encourage players to use the program, which can be found on the Unit website.

Proceeds from the NABC

Listed below are some of the ways in which the Unit has used proceeds from the March 2009 NABC:

- The Unit has lowered the cost of the STAC games to unit clubs.
- Sectional entry fees have been lowered to \$5 for one event in each of the past two sectionals and this will continue.
- We subsidized the cost of the social bridge event held in February.
- We replaced two storage carts and plan to replace damaged card tables in the near future.
- The Unit has purchased a \$1500 sound system, which will enable us to avoid high rental costs at future tournaments.
- We reimbursed rent to clubs which closed during the 2009 NABC.
- We approved a subsidy for school teachers who are willing to teach bridge in the districts in which they are employed.
- We have continued subsidy programs for 0-20 games, mentor games and I/N classes.

Thanks to the Board of Directors

I'd like to thank the Board of Directors for all their hard work during the past year. As many of you know, when you are elected to the Board you agree to accept as lot of responsibility and hard work. In addition to hosting a regional, we hold four sectionals which are often as large as regionals in other units; In addition we have approximately 20 other areas of events that we sponsor, such as the STAC events, the Pro-Am, the GNT, the NAP, 20 unit championship games a year, several 199er and 299er tournaments, bridge in schools and many other areas. We were indeed fortunate to have such a hard working group of volunteers serving on our Board of Directors this past year.

Awards Presentation

Karen Nimmons announced the winners of the Mini-McKenney awards and the Ace of Clubs awards while Pat passed out the awards and Bert Onstott took a photograph of each winner receiving the award. Winners were as follows:

Category		Ace of Clubs	Mini-McKenney
0-5		David Durand	David Durand
5-20		James Ochsner	Rani Sachdev
20-50		Susan McLaurin	Bobbie Moutz
50-100		Keith Everett	Kailash Sachdev
100-200		Karen Hearn	Myrna Dorman
200-300		Paul Cuneo	Paul Cuneo
300-500		Gordon Yee	Brian Stevens
500-1,000)	John Lai	David Dyer



1,000-2,500	Mary Anne Woessner	Gary King
2,500-5,000	Mary Pat Gentry	Carolyne Fox
5,000-7,500	Jeanne Linzel	Jeanne Linzel
7,500-10,000	Joe Quinn	Carolyn Peters
10,000+	John Zilic	Eddie Wold

Nominating Committee and Election Judges

We want to thank Dianna Gittelman and her committee for providing us with such an outstanding slate of candidates. They would all make excellent board members, and we are fortunate to have such a slate to choose from. We also want to thank Natalie Greene and Dale Crumbaugh for serving as our election judges. They have volunteered to do this work for the past ten years. They work behind the scenes for several weeks prior to the election sending out absentee ballots, and then monitor three days of voting and count ballots during the Election Sectional. They were awarded the Texas Star award in 2009.

Election Results

The winners of this year's election, who will serve for a three year period are:

- Beverley Cheatham
- Chuck Ensor
- Jolie Hess

Congratulations to all of the winners, and we thank the other candidates who I know will be asked to serve as volunteers throughout the coming year.

Adjourn

Motion: That the meeting be adjourned.

The motion was seconded and approved at 2:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted

John Erickson

Secretary

